Dataset Viewer
Auto-converted to Parquet Duplicate
question
stringlengths
20
100
answer
stringlengths
158
478
product
stringclasses
27 values
category
stringclasses
5 values
difficulty
stringclasses
3 values
source
stringclasses
34 values
id
stringlengths
8
8
record_type
stringclasses
1 value
intent_family
stringclasses
17 values
version_scope
stringclasses
4 values
evidence
listlengths
1
3
⌀
review_status
stringclasses
1 value
training_eligible
bool
1 class
rights_status
stringclasses
1 value
execution_level
stringclasses
1 value
What role does AOS play in a Nutanix cluster?
AOS pools local SSD and HDD capacity from cluster nodes into a unified storage resource pool. Nutanix presents this as a core NCI capability, alongside AHV virtualization, rather than as storage attached to a single server. Exact deployment steps and compatibility depend on the product and release; consult current Nuta...
AOS
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure
ntx-0001
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How does the Distributed Storage Fabric make local drives usable by applications?
The Distributed Storage Fabric aggregates local drives across cluster nodes and presents storage to applications through storage protocols. This software-defined approach is the basis for Nutanix distributed storage; the official public pages do not prescribe one universal application-side protocol or configuration. Ch...
NCI
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0002
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does data locality mean in Nutanix storage?
Nutanix describes data locality as keeping one copy locally to reduce network access and latency. Its public storage material also describes intelligent tiering between SSD and HDD tiers. These are product design descriptions, not a guarantee of a particular latency for every workload; confirm deployment-specific behav...
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0003
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Can AOS place data across SSD and HDD tiers?
Yes. Nutanix publicly describes intelligent tiering between SSD and HDD tiers as part of AOS storage. The official public pages do not establish a specific placement algorithm, threshold, or administrator menu path, so avoid assuming those details. Consult release-specific product documentation for the configuration an...
AOS
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0004
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How does Nutanix characterize snapshot metadata?
Nutanix describes storage metadata as fine-grained and distributed. The same public page characterizes snapshots as metadata-based and says snapshots can be VM- and application-consistent. It does not identify a complete current list of metadata stores or internal services, so those lower-level implementation details s...
AOS
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0005
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does RF2 protect against?
RF2 stores data on at least two different nodes. Nutanix says that after a disk or node failure, the system can automatically re-replicate data to restore the configured replication factor. This describes the protection mechanism, not a promise against every failure scenario; confirm the release-specific design guidanc...
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0006
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What automatic action is described after an RF2 failure?
Nutanix describes automatic re-replication after a disk or node failure to restore the configured replication factor. RF2 places data on at least two different nodes before a failure. The timing, exact failure-domain behavior, and operational prerequisites are not specified on the public page and should be checked in c...
AOS
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0007
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which redundancy choices does the public edition comparison list?
The comparison lists Starter with factor 2, while Pro and Ultimate list tunable redundancy factors 2 or 3. Treat this as the published edition comparison, not an all-platform configuration guarantee: availability and eligibility may depend on the applicable release and cluster. Verify current licensing and technical do...
NCI
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0008
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is the practical distinction between RF2 and RF3?
RF2 means two-way replication across different nodes, while RF3 is the three-copy redundancy option referenced in the public comparison. Nutanix lists tunable RF2/RF3 for Pro and Ultimate, and factor 2 for Starter. The appropriate design depends on edition, capacity, and workload requirements; check current documentati...
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0009
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How does EC-X differ from keeping three full copies?
EC-X is described as parity-based protection that can use less raw capacity than three full copies under RF3. The official public pages explicitly leaves exact EC-X eligibility and configuration to release- and platform-specific documentation. Consider it a capacity-efficiency option to evaluate, not a blanket replacem...
AOS
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0010
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which data-optimization functions appear in Nutanix's public materials?
The cited materials describe inline and post-process deduplication, compression, and erasure coding. The comparison mentions LZ4 and LZ4HC and makes clear that some advanced features depend on edition; Starter lists basic LZ4 compression. Confirm feature eligibility against the current edition comparison and release gu...
AOS
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0011
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which compression technologies appear in the edition table?
The comparison lists basic LZ4 compression for Starter and identifies LZ4HC or deep compression among advanced storage features. It is an edition comparison rather than a substitute for a current quote or technical compatibility guide. Verify the relevant current edition and release documentation before planning around...
NCI
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0012
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What replication modes are associated with Nutanix disaster recovery?
Nutanix Disaster Recovery materials describe asynchronous, NearSync, and synchronous replication. The advertised RPO options span zero minutes to 24 hours depending on workload and configuration; the comparison associates async with at least one hour, NearSync with 1–15 minutes, and sync with zero. Confirm edition and ...
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/disaster-recovery
ntx-0013
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What RPO does the comparison associate with synchronous replication?
The public comparison associates synchronous replication with an RPO of zero. This is a product capability description within the cited licensing context, not a universal workload outcome or service-level guarantee. Recovery design still depends on configuration and workload, so use current product documentation to con...
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0014
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
When is NearSync presented as an option, and what RPO is listed?
The edition comparison lists NearSync at an RPO of 1–15 minutes and identifies it with Advanced Replication add-on capabilities in that licensing context. Nutanix's DR page gives the broader range of supported RPO options as workload- and configuration-dependent. Check current release and entitlement details for an act...
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0015
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What RPO range does Nutanix publish for its DR options?
The current Nutanix Disaster Recovery page states RPO choices from zero minutes through 24 hours, depending on workload and configuration. The comparison separately names sync, NearSync, and async ranges. These should not be read as guaranteed outcomes for every system; verify supported combinations and workload requir...
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/disaster-recovery
ntx-0016
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is Nutanix's public description of asynchronous replication RPO?
The comparison lists asynchronous replication with an RPO of at least one hour. The current DR page describes a broader range of options from zero minutes to 24 hours depending on workload and configuration. Check which replication mode, edition, and add-on apply to the target environment instead of generalizing one ta...
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0017
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Does Nutanix advertise Metro as zero-RPO protection?
Nutanix promotes AHV Metro as zero RPO, near-zero RTO, and zero-touch recovery on its DR page. Treat those statements as the product's stated design outcome, not a universal measured SLA. The official public pages do not verify witness or quorum prerequisites, so consult current technical documentation for topology and...
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/disaster-recovery
ntx-0018
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How many vCPUs or how much memory should be assigned to each CVM?
Nutanix's public product pages do not publish CVM sizing or resource requirements, so no supported vCPU or memory number can be quoted here. Consult the current AOS deployment and sizing documentation in the Nutanix Support Portal for your target release and platform; do not use an assumed generic profile as a recommen...
AOS
architecture
intermediate
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0019
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How does Nutanix characterize AHV as a virtualization layer?
AHV is Nutanix's integrated hypervisor and is managed through Prism. Nutanix states that AHV use is included with an NCI software license rather than licensed as a standalone product. In this context, marketing language about license-free virtualization should not be read as a separate entitlement without NCI.
AHV
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/ahv
ntx-0020
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Is AHV a separately licensed standalone product?
No. Nutanix's AHV page says it is not sold or licensed as a standalone product; use is included with an NCI software license. This distinction matters when interpreting phrases such as license-free virtualization. Check the customer's actual NCI entitlement and agreement for commercial scope rather than treating AHV as...
AHV
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/ahv
ntx-0021
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which hypervisors does the current NCI page present as choices?
The NCI product page presents AHV, VMware ESXi, or Microsoft Hyper-V as hypervisor choices. This is broad product-page language and does not establish version-specific compatibility or a retirement schedule. Before selecting a hypervisor for a particular deployment, check the relevant Nutanix support matrix and release...
NCI
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure
ntx-0022
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Has Nutanix published a Hyper-V retirement date?
No retirement date or last-supported AOS release was verified. Nutanix's current NCI page presents Hyper-V as a choice, but that broad statement does not establish release-specific support. Check the current hypervisor support matrix and release notes before making a compatibility or lifecycle claim; do not infer a ret...
NCI
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/page/documents
ntx-0023
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Does Move's ability to migrate from Hyper-V prove that deployment support is current?
No. Nutanix's AHV page lists Hyper-V as a possible migration source for Move, but the official public pages cautions that migration capability alone does not prove current Hyper-V deployment support. Check the hypervisor support matrix and release notes for the exact target release instead of relying on the migration s...
Nutanix Move
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/ahv
ntx-0024
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does Prism manage in a Nutanix environment?
Nutanix describes Prism as its management and control-plane interface for cluster, compute, storage, hypervisor, and VM operations. Prism is included with NCI at no additional cost according to the official FAQ. The public overview does not define every feature boundary between interfaces, so confirm release-specific c...
Prism
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/prism
ntx-0025
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How do Prism Element and Prism Central differ at a high level?
Prism Element is the cluster-level Prism interface; Prism Central centrally manages one or more clusters. Nutanix also describes wider fleet visibility and operations through Nutanix Central. This is a high-level distinction, not an exhaustive feature matrix; consult current product and release documentation for a spec...
Prism Central
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/prism
ntx-0026
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What Prism Central deployment shapes does Nutanix describe?
The Prism product page describes a single-VM deployment for smaller environments and a three-VM scale-out cluster for larger production environments. Multiple VM configuration sizes exist, but the marketing page does not give exact vCPU, RAM, or disk profiles. Use the current deployment guide to choose a profile for a ...
Prism Central
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/prism
ntx-0027
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Does the public Prism page specify exact Prism Central VM sizing?
No. It says multiple VM configuration sizes exist and describes single-VM and three-VM deployment shapes, but does not specify exact vCPU, RAM, or disk sizing. Refer to current release-specific deployment guidance for sizing and supported limits instead of assigning numeric resources from the marketing overview.
Prism Central
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/prism
ntx-0028
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Can Prism Central manage a fleet of more than one cluster?
Yes. Nutanix describes Prism Central as centrally managing one or more clusters, while Prism Element is the cluster-level interface. The exact supported cluster count by deployment profile was not verified in the official public pages, so confirm current profile limits and compatibility in the release-specific deployme...
Prism Central
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/prism
ntx-0029
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is Life Cycle Manager's role in the stack?
Nutanix Life Cycle Manager is marketed as automated full-stack lifecycle management, including one-click, non-disruptive updates. Its FAQ separates inventory scans from selected component updates. Availability and supported component matrices evolve, so check the latest LCM release notes for the specific cluster, relea...
LCM
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager
ntx-0030
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is the difference between an LCM inventory and an update?
LCM inventory is a read-only scan of components and their software or firmware versions. An update is an administrator-selected upgrade of components. This distinction helps separate discovery from change execution; use current LCM guidance to check which items are supported for the target cluster and release before sc...
LCM
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0031
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which components does the LCM FAQ associate with Prism Element?
The FAQ lists Prism Element support for inventory and updates covering AOS, AHV, Prism, Files, Foundation, and component firmware. It notes that the support matrix evolves, so this list should not be treated as a permanent compatibility guarantee. Check current LCM release notes for a target environment and component v...
LCM
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0032
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does the LCM FAQ say Prism Central can manage?
The LCM FAQ lists Prism Central support for Nutanix native products including Objects, Karbon, and Calm. The page cautions that supported inventory and update components change over time. Confirm the latest LCM release notes before assuming that a particular product or version can be updated from a specific management ...
LCM
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0033
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Can LCM be used when a cluster lacks Support Portal connectivity?
The LCM FAQ documents a Dark Site Bundle option for clusters without Support Portal connectivity. This provides a documented offline-related path, but the official public pages do not detail the exact procedure or bundle requirements. Follow the current LCM documentation for the release and network conditions involved.
LCM
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0034
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How does Nutanix describe AOS upgrade management?
The storage page says AOS upgrades are managed through Prism One-Click Upgrade, and the LCM FAQ describes a transition toward LCM as the single upgrade management plane for supported components. Exact flows and component order are version-sensitive; use the target release's current upgrade guide rather than assume a un...
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0035
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Does Nutanix document that Prism Central must always be upgraded before clusters?
No. Nutanix's official documentation did not find a universal current PC-before-PE or PC-before-AOS order. The LCM FAQ says it handles deployment dependencies by managing upgrade order, and support policy discusses compatibility families. Use LCM and release-specific upgrade documentation to determine sequencing for th...
Prism Central
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0036
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does Foundation Central contribute to Nutanix deployment?
Nutanix's public documentation materials identify Foundation and Foundation Central as deployment tools, but exact Foundation Central imaging steps, current version, image formats, and Prism menu paths were not verified. Consult the current Foundation documentation and compatibility matrix for an environment-specific d...
Foundation Central
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0037
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Where can Nutanix software run besides NX appliances?
Nutanix says its software is available on NX platforms and partner or OEM platforms. The hardware page names Cisco, HPE, Lenovo, Fujitsu, and Dell, and specifically calls out Dell XC and Lenovo HX platforms. Exact support depends on the model and release, so validate combinations in the hardware compatibility documenta...
NCI
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/hardware-platforms
ntx-0038
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which OEM vendors are named in Nutanix's hardware overview?
The public hardware page names Cisco, HPE, Lenovo, Fujitsu, and Dell as OEM platform vendors. It calls out Dell XC and Lenovo HX platforms by name. This vendor list does not certify every model or software combination; check the Nutanix hardware compatibility list for the precise model and installed release.
NCI
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/hardware-platforms
ntx-0039
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Does a listed OEM brand alone prove hardware compatibility?
No. Nutanix states that compatibility depends on the exact hardware model and certified compatibility with the installed software release. The public vendor list is not sufficient to infer support for every SKU. Check the hardware compatibility documentation and applicable release information before recommending a plat...
NCI
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/hardware-platforms
ntx-0040
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How does NC2 compare the cloud deployment model with on-premises infrastructure?
The current NC2 product page advertises Nutanix Cloud Clusters on AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, and OVHcloud. This identifies the providers listed in the cited product material, not every region or configuration available. Check current NC2 documentation and pricing for platform-specific availability and deployment details...
NC2
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-clusters
ntx-0041
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does NC2 stand for?
NC2 is Nutanix Cloud Clusters, the Nutanix product described for running Nutanix environments on public cloud platforms. The current page lists AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, and OVHcloud. The official public pages do not establish region-by-region availability or detailed technical limits, so verify those against current N...
NC2
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-clusters
ntx-0042
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Are Nutanix snapshots described as metadata-based?
Yes. Nutanix's distributed storage page describes snapshots as metadata-based and says they can be VM- and application-consistent. The source does not claim every snapshot automatically has application consistency; confirm the relevant workload configuration and release documentation before promising a consistency leve...
AOS
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0043
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Can NCI combine storage and virtualization capabilities?
NCI's product page presents AOS Storage and AHV Virtualization as core platform capabilities. AOS pools local node storage, while AHV is Nutanix's integrated hypervisor managed through Prism. The specific hypervisor choice and edition entitlements should be checked against current product and licensing documentation fo...
NCI
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure
ntx-0044
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is the documented boundary of current Cassandra details in the official documentation?
Nutanix's public documentation did not verify Cassandra's exact function, version, or replication details in current AOS, nor a definitive list of AOS microservices and metadata stores. Do not present those internals as confirmed facts from this dataset. Consult current AOS architecture documentation through the Suppor...
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0045
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Are exact AHV build numbers published by Nutanix?
No. Nutanix's public documentation marks current AHV build and version nomenclature as unverified because the public marketing pages did not state a current build. Nutanix version and release notes are the authoritative source for a particular release. Avoid assigning a latest AHV version or build number without checki...
AHV
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0046
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Can you infer a Prism Central cluster limit from its deployment shape?
No. The Prism overview says single-VM deployments suit smaller environments and three-VM scale-out clusters suit larger production environments, but it does not state cluster limits by profile. Consult current deployment documentation for profile-specific scale limits, compatibility, and sizing rather than extrapolatin...
Prism Central
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0047
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which Nutanix software capabilities are described as core NCI elements?
NCI is presented as combining AOS Storage and AHV Virtualization, with Nutanix Disaster Recovery, Nutanix Flow, and NC2 also included in the product description. This is the current page's portfolio framing; exact packaging and entitlements should be validated in current licensing materials for the buyer's agreement.
NCI
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure
ntx-0048
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What resilience-related storage options does the comparison associate with Pro and Ultimate?
The public comparison lists tunable RF2 or RF3 for Pro and Ultimate. It also mentions advanced storage features such as EC-X, deduplication, compression, and storage QoS. Feature availability is edition- and context-dependent, and the comparison is not a substitute for a current order guide or platform compatibility ch...
NCI
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0049
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How should the advertised AHV Metro recovery result be interpreted?
Nutanix advertises AHV Metro as zero RPO, near-zero RTO, and zero-touch recovery. The source frames this as a product design outcome rather than a universal measured service guarantee. The official public pages do not verify Metro topology, witness prerequisites, or support limits, so validate those details in release-...
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/disaster-recovery
ntx-0050
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Does the current product page call the DR offering Nutanix Disaster Recovery?
Yes. The current public product page uses the name Nutanix Disaster Recovery. Nutanix's official documentation did not establish that Leap was renamed or map every historic Leap reference to a current product or license. Use current naming and check current documentation for any legacy workflow or entitlement questions...
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/disaster-recovery
ntx-0051
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What should be checked before pairing an NX platform with an AOS release?
Nutanix says NX specifications and OEM compatibility vary by model and generation, and hardware support depends on certified compatibility with the installed software release. Check the hardware compatibility list for the exact model and release. The public overview does not validate every SKU or provide lifecycle date...
NCI
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/hardware-platforms
ntx-0052
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Are local disks in the DSF presented only to the node that owns them?
Nutanix describes the Distributed Storage Fabric as aggregating local drives across cluster nodes and presenting storage to applications through storage protocols. The public description is cluster-wide rather than a claim that each disk serves only its host. Consult current architecture documentation for workload-leve...
AOS
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0053
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Is RF3 simply the same as parity-based EC-X?
No. The official public pages distinguishes RF3, which refers to three full copies, from EC-X, which uses parity-based protection and can use less raw capacity than three copies. Exact EC-X eligibility and configuration are release- and platform-specific. Consult the applicable documentation before choosing a protectio...
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0054
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is the role of intelligent tiering in the public AOS description?
Nutanix describes intelligent tiering between SSD and HDD tiers as part of its storage capability. The official public pages do not provide a placement threshold or an administrator-controlled policy path. Treat the statement as the platform's high-level storage design and consult current technical guidance for workloa...
AOS
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0055
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does a non-disruptive LCM update claim mean in the product description?
Nutanix markets LCM as providing automated full-stack lifecycle management with one-click, non-disruptive updates. This is product positioning and does not replace release-specific prechecks, compatibility review, or upgrade planning. Check the current LCM and upgrade documentation for the actual components and environ...
LCM
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager
ntx-0056
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What storage is brought together by AOS across nodes?
AOS aggregates local SSD and HDD capacity across nodes into a unified resource pool. Nutanix describes the Distributed Storage Fabric as the software-defined technology that presents aggregated local drives to applications through storage protocols. This is a high-level architecture description, not a protocol configur...
AOS
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0057
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How does Nutanix describe the DSF interface to applications?
The Distributed Storage Fabric aggregates local drives across cluster nodes and presents the resulting storage to applications through storage protocols. The official public pages do not specify one universal protocol or configuration. Consult the current Nutanix product documentation for application-specific integrati...
AOS
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0058
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does the storage page say about snapshot consistency?
Nutanix describes snapshots as metadata-based and says they can be VM- and application-consistent. This does not establish that every snapshot is automatically application-consistent. Confirm the workload configuration and release-specific guidance before making a consistency guarantee. Consult current product document...
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0059
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is Nutanix's stated purpose for data locality?
Nutanix describes data locality as storing one copy locally to reduce network access and latency. Its public storage page also describes intelligent tiering between SSD and HDD. These are design descriptions and do not guarantee a specific workload latency or placement result.
AOS
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0060
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
After a physical failure, how does Nutanix restore the configured replication level?
Nutanix says the system automatically re-replicates data after a disk or node failure to restore the configured replication factor. RF2 stores data on at least two different nodes. Exact recovery times and all supported failure cases are not specified in the public overview.
AOS
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0061
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How is EC-X distinguished from RF3 in the storage materials?
RF3 refers to three full copies in the cited comparison, while EC-X is parity-based protection that can use less raw capacity than three full copies. Exact EC-X eligibility and configuration depend on platform and release. Verify technical guidance before choosing a protection design.
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0062
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What compression level does the comparison list for Starter?
The edition comparison lists factor 2 redundancy and basic LZ4 compression for Starter. Pro and Ultimate list tunable RF2 or RF3, with additional advanced data services in the comparison. Feature details are subject to current edition and cluster compatibility; verify before planning.
NCI
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0063
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which compression option appears in the advanced feature comparison?
The comparison lists LZ4HC or deep compression among advanced storage features and names basic LZ4 compression for Starter. It also notes that feature availability depends on edition. Check the current feature matrix and agreement for exact eligibility. Consult current product documentation for release-specific support...
NCI
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0064
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What categories of storage optimization does Nutanix describe?
Nutanix materials describe inline and post-process deduplication, compression, and erasure coding. The edition comparison further mentions cache and capacity-tier deduplication and storage QoS among advanced options. Verify current edition support and platform requirements for a specific use. Consult current product do...
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/distributed-storage
ntx-0065
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is AHV's licensing relationship to NCI?
Nutanix states that AHV is not sold or licensed as a standalone product; its use is included with an NCI software license. This is why describing AHV as license-free should not imply a separate entitlement without NCI. Check the customer agreement for actual terms.
AHV
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/ahv
ntx-0066
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which hypervisors are shown as NCI options on its product page?
The NCI page presents AHV, VMware ESXi, and Microsoft Hyper-V as hypervisor choices. That broad portfolio statement does not establish compatibility for every software release. Check the current support matrix and release documentation for an exact deployment. Consult current product documentation for release-specific ...
NCI
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure
ntx-0067
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Has Nutanix documented a last-supported Hyper-V release?
No. Nutanix's public documentation did not find an authoritative retirement date or last-supported AOS version for Hyper-V. The current NCI page lists Hyper-V as an option, but that does not establish release-specific support. Verify the current compatibility matrix before planning.
NCI
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/page/documents
ntx-0068
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which Prism interface is cluster-level and which centrally manages multiple clusters?
Prism Element is the cluster-level Prism interface. Prism Central centrally manages one or more clusters, while Nutanix Central is described as providing broader fleet visibility and operations. Consult current product documentation for exact feature boundaries and scale limitations. Consult current product documentati...
Prism Central
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/prism
ntx-0069
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
For what environment sizes does Nutanix describe each PC topology?
Nutanix describes single-VM Prism Central deployments for smaller environments and three-VM scale-out clusters for larger production environments. It does not publish exact vCPU, memory, or disk profiles on that page. Use current deployment documentation to size a specific instance. Consult current product documentatio...
Prism Central
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/prism
ntx-0070
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Does the Prism page specify cluster limits for each PC profile?
No. The page describes different Prism Central deployment shapes but does not give maximum managed-cluster counts by profile. Use current release-specific deployment guidance for scale limits rather than inferring them from the single-VM or three-VM description. Consult current product documentation for release-specifi...
Prism Central
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0071
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is the distinction between an LCM scan and an upgrade action?
LCM inventory is a read-only scan of component and software or firmware versions. Update performs an administrator-selected component upgrade. This separates discovery from change execution. Check the latest LCM release notes for supported components in the target environment. Consult current product documentation for ...
LCM
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0072
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What management scope does the FAQ list for PE lifecycle operations?
The LCM FAQ lists AOS, AHV, Prism, Files, Foundation, and component firmware for Prism Element inventory and updates. Nutanix notes that the matrix evolves, so verify current release notes before relying on the list for an upgrade plan. Consult current product documentation for release-specific support and configuratio...
LCM
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0073
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What products appear in the PC LCM support description?
The LCM FAQ lists PC support for Nutanix-native products including Objects, Karbon, and Calm. The matrix changes over time. Check current LCM release notes to confirm that the product and version you plan to manage are supported. Consult current product documentation for release-specific support and configuration detai...
LCM
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0074
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What license-level inclusion does the LCM FAQ state for Starter?
The LCM FAQ says LCM is included in all AOS Starter software licenses. This does not establish that every component or upgrade workflow is supported in every release. Confirm the current support matrix and licensing terms for a particular cluster.
LCM
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0075
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which offline update option is noted for clusters lacking portal access?
The LCM FAQ documents a Dark Site Bundle option for clusters without Support Portal connectivity. Nutanix's public documentation does not detail the bundle procedure or requirements. Follow the current LCM documentation for the release and network conditions involved. Consult current product documentation for release-s...
LCM
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0076
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Does Nutanix require Prism Central to always be upgraded before AOS clusters?
No universal order is documented in Nutanix's public materials. Nutanix says LCM manages upgrade dependencies by handling the upgrade order itself. Check the target Prism Central and AOS release notes and current LCM guidance for the specific environment before planning an upgrade sequence.
Prism Central
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/life-cycle-manager/lcm-faq
ntx-0077
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which deployment tools' imaging steps are still unverified?
The official public pages do not verify exact Foundation or Foundation Central imaging steps, current tool version, supported image formats, or Prism menu paths. Consult the current Foundation documentation and compatibility matrix for a supported deployment process. The official public product page gives only a high-l...
Foundation Central
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0078
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What providers does the NC2 page list?
Nutanix's current NC2 page advertises Nutanix Cloud Clusters on AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, and OVHcloud. This does not establish every region or configuration. Check current NC2 documentation for the specific cloud provider and environment. Consult current product documentation for release-specific support and configura...
NC2
architecture
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-clusters
ntx-0079
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which vendors are named for Nutanix OEM platforms?
Nutanix names Cisco, HPE, Lenovo, Fujitsu, and Dell as OEM platform vendors. The hardware page specifically calls out Dell XC and Lenovo HX. Exact compatibility depends on the model and installed release, so validate using current hardware documentation. Consult current product documentation for release-specific suppor...
NCI
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/hardware-platforms
ntx-0080
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Can OEM brand names alone establish that a server is supported?
No. Nutanix states that hardware compatibility depends on exact model and certified compatibility with the installed software release. The vendor list does not certify every SKU. Check the hardware compatibility documentation before selection or cluster expansion. Consult current product documentation for release-speci...
NCI
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/hardware-platforms
ntx-0081
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is the difference between synchronous and asynchronous replication in the cited RPO table?
The comparison lists synchronous replication at RPO zero and asynchronous replication at RPO of at least one hour. The DR page gives a broader range of zero minutes to 24 hours depending on workload and configuration. Confirm the mode and entitlement for the intended recovery design.
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0082
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which recovery metrics are promoted for AHV Metro, and how should they be read?
Nutanix promotes AHV Metro as zero RPO, near-zero RTO, and zero-touch recovery. The page says these are product design statements, not universal measured service levels. Witness and quorum prerequisites, as well as topology, require validation in current release-specific technical documentation.
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure/disaster-recovery
ntx-0083
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is not established about Metro witness and quorum requirements?
Nutanix's public documentation did not verify witness or quorum prerequisites, stretch-cluster topology constraints, or Metro configuration procedures. Product-page outcome statements do not supply a deployment architecture. Check current release-specific Nutanix documentation before implementing a Metro design. Consul...
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0084
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does the Nutanix hardware compatibility check depend on?
Nutanix says NX specifications and OEM compatibility vary by exact model and generation. Hardware support depends on certified compatibility with the installed software release. Check the current hardware compatibility information rather than infer support from a vendor name alone. Consult current product documentation...
NCI
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/hardware-platforms
ntx-0085
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Can Nutanix's official sources identify the latest AHV build?
No. Nutanix's public documentation did not verify current AHV build or version nomenclature, and public marketing pages do not provide a latest build. Nutanix release notes and Support Portal documentation are authoritative for a specific release. Avoid inventing a version number.
AHV
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0086
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What internal AOS metadata details are unverified?
Nutanix's public documentation did not verify a definitive current list of AOS microservices or metadata stores. It describes the storage metadata as fine-grained and distributed, but exact internal components require current AOS architecture documentation. Do not infer implementation details from the high-level produc...
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0087
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is publicly documented about Cassandra's exact function in AOS?
Nutanix's public product pages describe storage metadata only at a high level and do not document Cassandra's exact current function, version, or replication details. Use the current AOS architecture documentation in the Nutanix Support Portal for release-specific internals.
AOS
architecture
advanced
https://portal.nutanix.com/
ntx-0088
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does Nutanix publish about Metro Availability licensing?
The comparison lists Metro Availability among Advanced Replication add-on capabilities and associates synchronous replication with RPO zero. This appears in the stated AOS licensing context and should not be treated as universally included. Confirm current license eligibility and product mapping.
Nutanix Disaster Recovery
architecture
advanced
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0089
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What storage features does the comparison list beyond redundancy?
The public edition comparison lists snapshots and clones, tiering, online cluster grow or shrink, data-path redundancy, Files, Objects, asynchronous replication, and management features such as Prism, LCM, and Foundation. Availability can vary by edition and cluster use, so verify current entitlements.
NCI
architecture
intermediate
https://www.nutanix.com/products/legacy
ntx-0090
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How is Nutanix Cloud Platform positioned in the current catalog?
Nutanix Cloud Platform is the broader portfolio. Its catalog includes NCI, NUS, NDB, NAI, NC2, Nutanix Cloud Manager, Nutanix Kubernetes Platform, and Nutanix Central. This is a portfolio overview, not a detailed compatibility matrix; check current product documentation for version-specific requirements.
Nutanix Cloud Platform
product-catalog
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products
ntx-0091
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What capabilities does Nutanix Cloud Infrastructure bring together?
NCI is described as combining AOS Storage, AHV Virtualization, Nutanix Disaster Recovery, Nutanix Flow, and NC2. The public page offers a high-level view of the platform rather than an entitlement guide, so check current licensing material for specific packaging and commercial terms.
NCI
product-catalog
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-cloud-infrastructure
ntx-0092
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which products make up Nutanix Unified Storage?
NUS includes Files Storage, Objects Storage, and Volumes Block Storage, covering file, object, and block storage services. The individual products have different use cases and licensing terms; consult the relevant current product documentation before implementation or purchase. The public product summary does not estab...
NUS
product-catalog
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/files
ntx-0093
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is the current official name for the database service?
The current product page uses Nutanix Database Service, abbreviated NDB. Nutanix's public documentation identifies Era as historic terminology rather than the current product name. Use NDB for current portfolio references, and consult release notes for supported database engines and versions. The public product summary...
NDB
product-catalog
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/database-service
ntx-0094
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What names appear on Nutanix’s current enterprise AI page?
The current page is titled Nutanix AI Factory and describes Nutanix Enterprise AI; NAI is the abbreviation shown in Nutanix content. Nutanix's public documentation does not verify a formal product-name relationship to GPT-in-a-Box, so avoid inferring a rename. The public product summary does not establish every configu...
Nutanix Enterprise AI
product-catalog
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/nutanix-enterprise-ai
ntx-0095
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What is Nutanix Flow Network Security designed to provide?
Flow Network Security provides application-centric visibility and software-based firewall and microsegmentation capabilities. Its current product page emphasizes a Zero Trust architecture. This is a high-level product description, not a configuration guide; check release-specific materials before planning policy detail...
Flow Network Security
product-catalog
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/flow-network-security
ntx-0096
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does Nutanix Cloud Manager include at a high level?
NCM is presented with operational, self-service, cost-governance, and security-management capabilities in Nutanix’s current catalog and product description. The public overview does not detail each workflow or current commercial package, so verify those in current documentation. The public product summary does not esta...
Nutanix Cloud Manager
product-catalog
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/cloud-manager
ntx-0097
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
How is Prism characterized in Nutanix’s portfolio?
Nutanix Prism is the management plane. Its public page describes a management and control-plane interface for cluster, compute, storage, hypervisor, and VM operations. The overview does not define every feature boundary between Prism interfaces; check release-specific documentation for a task.
Prism
product-catalog
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/prism
ntx-0098
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
What does Nutanix Files Storage offer?
Files Storage is a scale-out distributed file-storage service. Its product page states support for SMB and NFS and describes controllers running across nodes in an existing cluster or on a dedicated file-storage cluster. Protocol-version details require current product documentation. The public product summary does not...
Files
product-catalog
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/files
ntx-0099
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
Which file access protocols does the Files page identify?
Nutanix Files Storage’s product page identifies SMB and NFS support. Nutanix's public documentation does not establish protocol versions or configuration limits for a specific deployment. Confirm current compatibility details before planning a client integration or promising a particular protocol level. The public prod...
Files
product-catalog
basic
https://www.nutanix.com/products/files
ntx-0100
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
null
End of preview. Expand in Data Studio

Nutanix Product, Licensing & Support Knowledge (Q&A)

A curated question-and-answer dataset covering the Nutanix platform (AOS, AHV, Prism, NC2, Files/Objects/Volumes, NDB, DR, LCM and the wider Nutanix Cloud Platform portfolio), Nutanix licensing (NCI editions, term/per-core models, NC2 consumption), and opening and managing support tickets with Nutanix. 522 entries, each grounded in an official Nutanix source URL.

Motivation

Support and operations teams working with Nutanix environments need accurate, source-attributed answers about current product naming (Nutanix Disaster Recovery, Nutanix AI Factory / Enterprise AI, NUS/NDB), edition-based licensing, and the support-case workflow. Public training corpora lag the current portfolio and support-policy details.

Dataset structure

One JSON object per line in data/train.jsonl:

Field Type Description
id string Stable id (ntx-0001 … ntx-0522)
question string The question
answer string Grounded answer (plain text, 40–130 words typical)
product string Product/area tag (AOS, AHV, Prism Central, NC2, NDB, Files, Nutanix Support, …)
category string architecture / product-catalog / licensing / support-ticketing / operations
difficulty string basic / intermediate / advanced
source string Official URL the answer was grounded in

Category distribution

Category Entries
product-catalog 111
architecture 109
operations 105
support-ticketing 103
licensing 94

Difficulty mix: 160 basic / 205 intermediate / 140 advanced.

Coverage highlights

  • Architecture — AOS/Distributed Storage Fabric, data locality and tiering, RF2/RF3 and EC-X, metadata-based snapshots, AHV, hypervisor choice, Prism Element vs Prism Central (single-VM and 3-VM deployments), replication modes (async / NearSync 1–15 min / sync RPO 0), LCM inventory vs update, Foundation Central, NC2 clouds (AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, OVHcloud), NX and OEM hardware (Dell XC, Lenovo HX, Cisco, HPE, Fujitsu).
  • Products — Nutanix Cloud Platform portfolio naming (NCI, NUS, NDB, Nutanix Enterprise AI / AI Factory, NC2, NCM, Nutanix Central), Files/Objects/Volumes details, Flow Network Security, NDB engine list, Prism Pro/Ultimate (AIOps tiers), Move.
  • Licensing — Starter/Pro/Ultimate editions and feature gating, capacity-based per-core/SSD licensing with 1–7 year terms, VDI per-user and ROBO per-VM models, appliance licensing (non-transferable), AHV/Prism inclusion, Files 1 TiB / Objects 2 TiB free allowances, NC2 PAYG (published $/core-hour rates) vs BYOL portability.
  • Support & ticketing — portal Open Case flow (serial number, hypervisor + AOS version), P1–P4 definitions and targeted initial response levels (P1: 1 hour; 30 minutes under Mission Critical Support), escalation via SRE / Head of Support, Pulse/Alerts proactive monitoring, EOSL policy, hardware maintenance and RMA/dispatch terms, RFE target.
  • Operations — LCM dark-site bundles, PC/PE component support, cluster grow/shrink, DR protection/recovery plans and test failovers, NDB lifecycle, Files/Objects day-2 concepts, support-case ops.

Method and sourcing

Entries were authored against official Nutanix public sources — nutanix.com product and support pages (including the Nutanix Support Policies and Support Program Guide), the official edition-comparison pages, and NC2 pricing pages — with each entry citing its source. Details that live behind the authenticated support portal (exact CLI/NCC command syntax, Prism menu paths, upgrade click sequences, version matrices) are not asserted: where relevant, entries state what is not publicly documented and point to the portal documentation. Six CLI-adjacent entries include explicit version-sensitivity caveats.

Caveats

  • Time-sensitive values (PAYG $/core-hour rates, policy targets, edition feature lists) reflect official pages as reviewed on 2026-10-30. Re-verify before quoting or contracting.
  • Product lifecycle items that Nutanix has not formally documented publicly (e.g., formal "Leap" rename statements, Frame/Mine commercial status, Hyper-V retirement dates) are answered with explicit uncertainty rather than guessed.
  • The support-policy response targets are policy objectives, not resolution guarantees.

Intended use

  • Fine-tuning / SFT for infrastructure-support assistants.
  • Retrieval-augmented generation (RAG) knowledge base for Nutanix operations.
  • Evaluation of LLM knowledge on the current Nutanix portfolio.

Not intended for: contractual licensing decisions, SLA commitments, or as a replacement for official Nutanix documentation.

Downloads last month
40